Section V Nordic Race #1

December 20, 2016

Section V High School Nordic racing started off the year with fast, albeit granular, snow conditions at Bristol Mountain’s Nordic center. A first scrimmage to get everyone organized, team points weren’t calculated.

Boys’ Varsity raced first, with Pittsford Mendon, Honeoye Falls-Lima, and Pittsford Sutherland all having multiple skiers in the top 10. Aiden Tolley of Mendon crossed the line in first place with a time of 11:14 for the 4km course. He was followed in the next seconds by Ian Thompson (HFL), and Casey Woodward (Mendon). Rounding out the top 10 were Cam McDaniel (HFL) in 4th, Gino Filiaci and Rylan Hodgson (Sutherland) in 5th and 6th,  Devon Tayman and Sam Trawick (Mendon) in 7th and 8th, Jacob Moszkowicz (Irondequoit) in 9th, and Stefan Korfmacher (Brighton) in 10th place. With less than a minute spread between 1st and 10th, this could prove to be an exciting season.

The Girls’ Varsity A race was even closer than the boys’ race, with only 36 seconds separating the top 10. Anna Schriefer took 1st place with a time of 12:13. Natalie Northrup and Bridget Wangler (HFL) were 2nd and 3rd, Brighton 8th grader Grace Mattern was 4th, and Cori Conlon (HFL) was 5th. Rounding out the top 10 were Laura Broderick (Fairport), Gabby Wangler (HFL), Maddi Pitt (HFL), Jing Chang (Mendon), and Megan Donahoe (HFL).

Reese Orsini (HFL) and Jacob Fantuzzo (Mendon) tied for 1st place in the Varsity B boys’ race. Nate Bradley of HFL was 3rd. Anna Lazarus-Hall (HFL) won the Varsity B girls’ race, followed by a 2nd place tie between Lexi Valachovic (Webster) and Elizabeth Ingle (HFL).

In JV skiing action, Teddy Warfle (HFL) won the short 2km race for the boys with Trevor August (Mendon) and Matt Quieroz (Mendon) in 2nd and 3rd. Jada Balmer (HFL) took the Girls’ JV race, with Jenna Erb (HFL), and Anna Pogharian (Mendon) in 2nd and 3rd.

Looking forward to more snow over the break so we’re able to start the New Year with good snow and great racing!